Lower South West shires elect their councillors for 2017

A number of faces familiar to the community have been elected to serve on the Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup, Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes and Shire of Manjimup councils. 

More than 55 per cent of eligible voters made their voices heard in the Shire of Donnybrook-Balingup where nine candidates fought for five seats.

Anne Mitchell was re-elected while Leanne Wringe, Shane Atherton, Anita Lindemann and Brian Piesse were also selected. 

In the Shire of Bridgetown-Greenbushes, councillor Pat Scallan was re-elected unopposed to the one north ward vacancy. 

In the south ward, deputy shire president Alan Wilson was re-elected along with councillor Julia Boyle. 

Councillors Peter Quinby and Steve Hodson were unsuccessful in their attempts to be re-elected. They will be replaced by John Bookless and Chris Wallace.  

Further south in the Shire of Manjimup, councillor David Tapley was re-elected unopposed in the south ward while Wendy Eiby was elected unopposed to replace outgoing councillor Graham Munro in the coastal ward. 

Councillor Cliff Winfield defeated Nicholas Hort and Timothy Mearns in the east ward while Murray Ventris defeated former Shire President Wade Decampo for the single vacancy in the west ward. Current Shire President Paul Omodei was comfortably re-elected in the central ward where he will be joined by Jayde Salomone. 

Each shire’s new councillors will be sworn in over the next week along with the internal voting to decide  the president and deputy president.